It is that time again – property taxes are due November 10.
In some states, you pay property taxes in arrears, or after they are accumulated. In California, you pay half the tax in advance, and the other half in arrears. The due dates are set forth by state law and penalties are access if they aren’t paid on time.
On January 1, California properties incur a lien for tax due on the property for the following state tax year (July 1 through June 30). The tax payer receives the bill in two installments, the first one is due on November 10 (YUP – 10 DAYS FROM NOW!) and delinquent after December 10, and the second is due February 1 and delinquent after April 10. In California, there is no penalty for paying any time before or on the delinquent date. Consequently, most people use these as the due dates.
If you don’t pay before the delinquent date you get a penalty of 10 percent. Each month you delay they add a 1.5 percent redemption fee. If you don’t repay this all within five years of its due date the tax collector may sell your property at public auction to pay off the debt. They only keep what is owed them and the rest goes to pay off any other liens on the property then you get the balance of the sale if there is anything left. What an ugly way to avoid paying taxes. This is one bill you don’t want to ignore.